Myrtle Beach Pelicans Announce Stadium Name

Pelicans Make History
Myrtle Beach Wins Second Championship

The Myrtle Beach Pelicans swept the 2000 Mills Cup Championship best-of-five series against the Lynchburg Hillcats in three games, ending Saturday, September 9. The win makes the Pelicans the first team in Carolina League history to win the championship in both of a team’s first two seasons. The Pelicans shared the title in their inaugural season with the Wilmington Blue Rocks when the fifth and final game of the series was cancelled due to Hurricane Floyd.

The Pelicans played the first two games of the championship at home (2-1, 7-4) and then traveled to Lynchburg to clinch the championship with the third (5-2). Pelicans Center Fielder James “Junior” Brignac was named MVP of the Carolina League post season.

The Pelicans have made all kinds of history this season. They ended the regular season with the lowest ERA in professional baseball, a 2.51 ERA as a team. In the Carolina League, the Pelicans pitching staff allowed the fewest hits (908) and walks (382), besting their competitors who allowed more than 1000 hits and 400 walks each. The Pelicans had 27 shutouts, the most in pro baseball this year, as well. Check out the story in the Myrtle Beach newspaper:

Comments are closed.