Pelicans Earn Honors


August 13, 2001
Contact: Bryan Dolgin, Director of Media & Public Relations

Pelicans Earn Honors

MYRTLE BEACH, SC — The Myrtle Beach Pelicans head groundskeeper, Patrick Coakley, was named the 2001 Carolina League Groundskeeper of the Year. The league’s field managers and general managers from the league’s eight teams voted for the award.

Coakley is the second Pelicans groundskeeper to earn the honor in the Pelicans three seasons. Bill Butler, who earned the honor in ’99, was the Pelicans head groundskeeper in ’99 & ’00. Coakley was an assistant under Butler in ’00 and took over the head post in October of 2000. Joshua Koss, the Pelicans assistant groundskeeper, joins Coakley in the daily upkeep of the field. This season is Coakley’s first in his career as a head groundskeeper, and it’s Koss’ first year working in baseball. On game days at Coastal Federal Field, the ground crew totals four including Coakley and Koss. Coakley shares this award with the Lynchburg Hillcats head groundskeeper Darren Johnson who received just as many votes.

Coakley, 28, has been in Minor League Baseball since 1995. Prior to working with the Pelicans, Coakley held a variety of positions with the Single-A Albany Polecats (now the Delmarva Shorebirds) and Piedmont Boll Weevils (now the Kannapolis Intimidators) of the South Atlantic League. Coakley graduated in ’94 from the University of Massachusetts-Amherst with a Bachelor of Science degree in Sports Management. He and his fiancee Jennifer reside in Myrtle Beach, SC.

Quote from Pat Coakley: “We work very hard to put out a good product for the players to use and the fans to enjoy. To be recognized for that effort in this fashion is a great feeling, and it makes me very proud and appreciative of the support.”

The recent edition of Baseball America, a leading publication on the world of baseball, featured the “Best Tools” for Major and Minor League Baseball. A handful of Myrtle Beach Pelicans, past and present were mentioned in the break down of the Carolina League.

The managers of the Carolina League’s eight teams voted for 20 categories in breaking down the league’s best and here are the Pelicans that made the list:

Best Pitching Prospect: Brett Evert* Best Control: Brett Evert
Best Defensive First Baseman: Adam La Roche Best Defensive Third Baseman: Troy Cameron**
Best Defensive Shortstop: Wilson Betemit*** Best Infield Arm: Wilson Betemit
Best Defensive Outfielder: Ryan Langerhans Most Exciting Player: Wilson Betemit
Best Manager Prospect: Brian Snitker  

*Evert has been on the disabled list with a strained right shoulder since July 11.
**Cameron was traded to the Cleveland Indians organization on June 22.
***Betemit was promoted to Double-A Greenville on July 12.

Capitol Broadcasting Company, Inc. is a diversified communications company which owns and/or operates WRAL-TV, WRAL-Digital, WRAL-FM, Microspace, the North Carolina News Network, DTV Plus, Wolfpack Sports Marketing, and Capitol Sports Management in Raleigh, NC; WJZY-TV and WWWB-TV in Charlotte, NC; WILM-TV in Wilmington, NC; WRAZ-TV and the Durham Bulls Baseball Club in Durham, NC; and the Myrtle Beach Pelicans Baseball Club in Myrtle Beach, SC; Capitol Broadcasting Company also founded Local TV on Satellite in Raleigh, NC.

Comments are closed.