Bulls Win Governor’s Cup Championship

Bulls Win Governor’s Cup Championship

RHP Gerardo Garcia pitched six and 2/3 shutout innings leading the Durham Bulls to a 2-0 victory over the Buffalo Bisons to give the Bulls the International League championship on Thursday night, September 12, 2002, at the Durham Bulls Athletic Park.

The Bulls captured the best-of-five championship series, three games to none. This is the first Triple-A championship for the Durham Bulls and the first title at any level since 1969. Garcia (1-0) had a no hitter through six innings before allowing a leadoff single to Chad Allen in the seventh. It was the only hit the Bulls would allow.

Garcia finished with eight strikeouts and three walks to get the win. LHP Jason Jimenez retired Todd Dunwoody with two runners on in the seventh inning to escape the only Bisons’ threat of the game. RHP Jesus Colome and RHP Rick Croushore pitched perfect innings to finish off the series. Croushore’s save was his third of the playoffs.

Paul Hoover doubled home Emil Brown to break a scoreless deadlock in the sixth inning. Ryan Freel added an RBI single to score Brooks Badeaux with the second run in the seventh. Hoover and Jason Tyner each went 2-for-4.

RHP Ryan Drese (0-1) took the defeat for Buffalo after allowing two runs (earned) and six hits over six and 1/3 innings. He walked four and fanned eight. Chad Allen had the only Bisons’ hit and Ben Broussard walked twice.

Comments are closed.