WRAL-TV & NCNN Win Honors From The ENAC


WRAL-TV and the North Carolina News Network were big winners when The Electronic News Association of the Carolinas held its 2004 competition. The ENAC, formerly known as the Radio and Television News Directors Association of the Carolinas, brings together electronic media professionals to improve cable and news services by sharing the latest technology, news practices and news management. The ENAC annual awards honor the best in local broadcast journalism throughout the Carolinas.

WRAL-TV took nine awards, five of which were first places – more than any other station in the Carolinas. The honors are in the following areas:

  • Spot News: 1st Place, “I-95 Backup”
  • General News: 2nd Place, “Centennial of Flight Celebration”
  • Special Report: 1st Place, “Kinston Plant Explosion”
  • Documentary: 1st Place, “Supersizing our Kids”
  • Investigative: 1st Place, “Congressman Ballance Investigation”
  • Political/General: 2nd Place, “Phipps Fall”
  • Photography: 1st Place, “Navy/OLF Protest”
  • North Carolina Reporter of the Year: 1st Place, Scott Mason; 2nd Place, Cullen Browder

NCNNNCNN won seven awards, four of which were first place finishes and two repeat wins. Their honors are:

  • Best Sportscaster: 1st Place, Bruce Ferrell (won for second consecutive year)
  • General Political: 1st Place, “No More Sterilization” by Matt Willoughby
  • Sports Special: 1st Place, “Winston Cup Today” by Steve Shumake (won for second consecutive year)
  • Series: 1st Place, “Organ Donor”
  • Documentary: 2nd Place, “Jesse Helms”
  • Spot News: 2nd Place, “Hurricane Isabel”
  • Health News: 2nd Place, “Organ Donations”

The awards will be presented at the annual ENAC Awards Luncheon and Conference, which will be held Saturday, June 12 in Charlotte.

Comments are closed.