WRAL-TV Named Outstanding Broadcast News Operation in NC

WRAL-TV logo WRAL-TV Named Outstanding Broadcast News Operation in NC
CBC Station Brings Home Awards from NCAPB/RTNDAC Conference

WRAL-TV recently brought home a collection of awards from the North Carolina Associated Press Broadcasters (NCAPB) and the Radio-Television News Directors Association of the Carolinas (RTNDAC). Presented on Saturday, April 8, 2006, in Charlotte at the NCAPB/RTNDAC annual conference, the awards honor excellence in broadcast journalism.

WRAL-TV 50th logoAs a highlight of the ceremony, the NCAPB named WRAL the outstanding broadcast news operation in NC for 2005. “This award reflects the hard work, competitive zeal, and commitment to excellence of everyone in news and beyond,” said WRAL-TV News Director Rick Gall. “ Special thanks to Jennifer Joyner, Stacy Wimmer, Amy Meiggs, and James Ford … who each had a hand in our entry.”

WRAL-TV Assistant News Director Cherie Grzech, Senior Executive Producer Monica Laliberte, Senior Morning News Producer Michelle Fauver, and Senior News Producer Jennifer Sorber attended the event and accepted the awards on behalf of the station.

And the winners are…

Richard Adkins
Richard Adkins
Kelcey Carlson
Kelcey Carlson
Brad Grantham
Brad Grantham
Scott Mason
Scott Mason

N.C. Associated Press Broadcasters

  • Outstanding News Operation for 2005– WRAL
  • Best News Writing – Scott Mason
  • Best Website – WRAL.COM 
  • Honorable Mention – Enterprise/Investigative – Kelcey Carlson & Richard Adkins for “Wake Schools Fraud Investigation”
  • AP Contributor- Brad Grantham

The Radio-Television News Directors Association of the Carolinas

  • First Place – Best Newscast – “Gridlock”, 1/19/05 – WRAL
  • First Place – Investigative Reporting – “Wake Schools Fraud”
    – Kelcey Carlson & Richard Adkins
  • Jay Jennings
    Jay Jennings
    Clay Johnson
    Clay Johnson

    First Place –  Sports – “King of the Court”
     – WRAL

  • First Place –  Documentary – “Line in the Sand”– Clay Johnson & Jennings

Region 8 Edward R. Murrow Awards

  • Writing – Scott Mason
  • Website – WRAL.COM

Comments are closed.