NCAPB Honors NCNN With Multiple Awards

NCNN logo
NCNN crew members show off some of their NCAPB awards: (l to r) Victoria Pridgen, David Horn & Clayton Henkel.

The North Carolina News Network recently racked up quite an array of awards from the North Carolina Associated Press Broadcasters.  NCNN News Producer/Special Projects Clayton Henkel represented the group at the NCAPB awards luncheon on Saturday, April 21, 2007, at Elon University.

And the winners are:

  • The NCNN staff won for Spot News for their coverage of the Apex chemical fire.
  • Clayton Henkel won Enterprise/Investigative for her Beyond the Headlines series on finding alternative energy called “Fueling Our Future”. She swept the category, winning Honorable Mention for her Beyond the Headlines series on teen drivers called “License To Drive”.
  • Clayton Henkel won Honorable Mention for Best Feature for her report on NASCAR Pigs from the State Fair.
  • NCNN Anchor/Reporter David Horn won for Best Newscast for his 8:55am newscast on the day the Apex chemical fire broke out.
  • Bruce Ferrell
    NCNN’s Bruce Ferrell wins Best Sportscast again.

    NCNN Anchor/Reporter Bruce Ferrell continues his streak, winning Best Sportscast again this year.

  • Clayton Henkel won Best Sports Programming for her Beyond the Headlines series on the way NASCAR affects North Carolina called “Racing To The Future.”
  • Clayton Henkel won Best Health Report for her Beyond the Headlines series on the danger of mercury in fish called “Mercury In Fish”.
  • Clayton Henkel also won Honorable Mention for Best Series for her Beyond the Headlines series called “Racing To The Future.”
Byron Pitts
Byron Pitts of CBS serves as the keynote speaker.
Elon College
Elon College is a peaceful sight on the morning of the NCAPB event.
Julia Lewis
WRAL-TV Reporter Julia Lewis (left) speaks on a panel with (l to r) Aaron Bear & Brad Bannon.

“I am so proud that the quality of the work of NCNN’s staff is getting statewide recognition,” said NCNN News Director Ellen Reinhardt. Reinhardt was elected NCABP President at the weekend event.

CBC also had representation beyond the awards.  WRAL-TV Reporter Julia Lewis participated on a panel about the Duke Lacrosse case. WRAL-TV brought home several NCAPB honors themselves. See the WRAL-TV list of winners here.

Thanks to NCNN’s Clayton Henkel, Ellen Reinhardt & Corp’s Ed Williams for these capcom photos.

Comments are closed.