WRAL-TV Wins Multiple Honors from RTNDAC


WRAL-TV Wins Multiple Honors from RTNDAC

WRAL-TV came home a big winner from the Radio-Television News Directors Association of the Carolinas (RTNDAC) annual conference and awards luncheon on Sat, Oct 18, 2008.   Held in Charlotte, the event honored the best in the television business in North & South Carolina.

WRAL-TV won four first place awards and seven second place honors, including a sweep in the Special Report category.

WRAL-TV winners include:


  • Sports Special – “The Miracle of the Cardiac Pack”  (Jeff Gravley, Tom Suiter, Bob Holliday, Jason Jennings, Brad Simmons, Josh Hailey, Dane Huffman, Ryan Craig)
  • News Documentary – “The Other North Carolina” (Clay Johnson, Jay Jennings)
  • Political-Election – WRAL – “Election 2008” (WRAL News Staffers)
  • Special Report – “Crossing the Line” (Clay Johnson, Jay Jennings)


  • Best Newscast – 6pm News “McCall’s Crash” (WRAL News Staffers)
  • Consumer/Economic – “Remodeling Disaster” (Monica Laliberte, David McCorkle, Lori Lair)
  • Feature –  “Marty” (Scott Mason)
  • General News –  “Nanny Cam” (Amanda Lamb)
  • Special Report – “State of Minds” (Clay Johnson, Jay Jennings)
  • News Web Sitewral.com
  • Reporter of the Year – N.C. – Scott Mason

WRAL-TV News Director Rick Gall has served as RTNDAC President for the past year and was elected to a second term at the event.

Fellow CBC division the North Carolina News Network brought home an armload of awards as well.  Check out the capcom story about the NCNN winners: 


Comments are closed.