WRAL-TV Wins Four Regional Murrow Awards

WRAL-TV logo

WRAL-TV Wins Four Regional Murrow Awards
WRAL.com Wins Best Web Site for 2nd Year Running

Edward R. Murrow AwardsThe Radio-Television News Directors Association (RTNDA) announced the winners of the prestigious Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards on Thursday, April 2, 2009, and WRAL-TV made the list an impressive four times.

WRAL-TV won for

  • Web Site:  WRAL.com
  • Videography:  WRAL-TV News Photographer Geof Levine
  • News Documentary:  “Love Child” – WRAL-TV Documentary Producer Clay Johnson & WRAL-TV Documentary Photographer Jay Jennings
  • Writing:  WRAL-TV Reporter Scott Mason
WRAL-TV’s Regional Murrow Award Winners
Jay Jennings
WRAL-TV’s Jay Jennings
Clay Johnson
WRAL-TV’s Clay Johnson
Geof Levine
WRAL-TV’s Geof Levine
Scott Mason
WRAL-TV’s Scott Mason

WRAL.com won the best Web Site for the second year in a row. The site has won the honor multiple times, including the first year the category was offered in 2001. Mason previously won best writing honors in 2006.

WRAL-TV’s four winning entries will automatically move on to the national Murrow competition which will be judged in June.  The national awards will be presented at a dinner in New York in October.

The RTNDA first presented the Murrow awards in 1971.  They were named for the legendary newsman, and the recipients are deemed to have demonstrated “the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

Comments are closed.