WRAL-TV and WRAL.com Win Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

WRAL-TV logo

WRAL-TV and WRAL.com Win Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Murrow Awards The Radio Television Digital News Association honored WRAL with Regional Edward R. Murrow awards for Overall Excellence and Outstanding Web Site. This is the third consecutive win for WRAL.com in the Web Site category.

WRAL-TV Vice President and General Manager Steven D. Hammel credits an outstanding staff saying, “These awards showcase the outstanding teamwork, creativity and commitment of the talented and passionate people who work here. Their tireless efforts consistently provide our viewers and web users with content they can’t get anywhere else. I’m proud of the work everyone does as we serve our community. ”

RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

WRAL-TV News Director Rick Gall says, “We work hard every single day to provide comprehensive news coverage across our viewing area, and it’s an honor to be recognized for that.  We have a tremendous staff committed to breaking news, producing in-depth reports on relevant issues, investigating questionable people and practices, helping protect viewers during severe weather, and covering sports in memorable ways.”

WRAL.com has won the regional Murrow for Outstanding Web Site in 2001, 2006, 2008, 2009. WRAL.com General Manager John Clark says content is still king. “Our mission, day in and day out, is providing rich, deep, interactive, unique content. Be the best local news web site in the country every single day.” 

WRAL competes in Region 8 which includes North Carolina, South Carolina, Kentucky, Tennessee and West Virginia.

As regional winners, WRAL-TV and WRAL.com will automatically be entered in the national Murrow competition. National winners will be announced over the summer. WRAL.com won the National Murrow award in 2009.

Thanks to WRAL-TV’s Debbie Tullos for this capcom story.

Comments are closed.