WRAL-TV Named Oustanding News Operation by NC Associated Press for Second Consecutive Year

WRAL-TV logo

WRAL-TV Named Oustanding News Operation by NC Associated Press for Second Consecutive Year

The North Carolina Associated Press Broadcasters has once again honored WRAL-TV as the Outstanding News Operation in the division one television contest. WRAL-TV took home that top honor for the second year running. The station won a total of nine first place awards and three honorable mentions.

Winning entries:

Outstanding News Operation
    WRAL-TV logo  
General News
Greg Taylor Exonerated
Amanda Lamb & Keith Baker
    Amanda Lamb Keith Baker
Best Sportscast
Battle of the Blues at Cameron
Jeff Gravley & the Entire WRAL Sports Staff
      Jeff Gravley
Best News Writing
Tar Heel Traveler Scott Mason
      Scott Mason
Best Newscast
News at 11: Officer Shot
Lori Grant, Chris Burns, Ken Smith, Mark Simpson, Adam Owens & Greg Clark
  Lori Grant Chris Burns Ken Smith
  Mark Simpson Adam Owens Greg Clark
Spot News
Chatham County Courthouse Fire
Stephanie Beck, Chris Burns, Erin Hartness, Dan Bowens, Richard Adkins
  Stephanie Beck Chris Burns Erin Hartness
      Dan Bowens Richard Adkins
Enterprise Documentary
Focal Point: The War Within
Clay Johnson & Jay Jennings
    Clay Johnson Jay Jennings

Best Consumer Report
Wedding Dress Disaster
Monica Laliberte, Lori Lari & David McCorkle

  Monica Laliberte Lori Lair David McCorkle
Best Photography
Richard Adkins
      Richard Adkins

Honorable Mention:

Best Series
Devastation in Haiti
Bryan Mims, Tom Normanly, David Crabtree, Keith Baker, Tony Gupton, Michael Charbonneau & Phillipe Charles
  Bryan Mims Tom Normanly David Crabtree
    Keith Baker Tony Gupton Mike Charbonneau
        Phillipe Charles
Spot News
Target Store Shooting
Martha Woodward & James Ford
    Martha Woodward James Ford

Enterprise – Investigative
Waiting for Care
Bruce Mildwurf & Ed Wilson

    Bruce Mildwurf Ed Wilson

“Very impressive!” said WRAL-TV News Director Rick Gall to his staff. “Congratulations and thanks to all who contributed! “

The awards were presented on Saturday, April 9, 2011, in Burlington, NC.

The North Carolina Associated Press Broadcasters Association held the ceremony as part of its annual meeting at the Ramada Convention Center. The morning session featured a program on social media. U.S. Senator Richard Burr delivered the keynote address at the awards luncheon.



Comments are closed.