WRAL-TV Takes 14 Awards at Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas Including Best Newscast and Reporter of the Year

WRAL-TV logo

RTNDAC Raleigh-Durham’s most watched television station took nine first-place and five second-place awards at the RTDNAC awards luncheon on Saturday, October 20, 2012, which honors the best in broadcast journalism in North Carolina and South Carolina.

WRAL-TV competes in the Division I category that includes stations in Raleigh-Durham, Charlotte, Greensboro, Winston-Salem, High Point, Greenville-Spartanburg, Asheville and Columbia.

The station was honored in twelve categories: best newscast, news reporter of the year, news anchor of the year, investigative, political and election coverage, news documentary, news series, special report, spot (breaking) news, education and sports special.

Best Newscast
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – WRAL News at 11: Hurricane Irene – Martha Woodward, Mick Evans 

TV News Reporter of the Year (Division I)
SECOND PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Cullen Browder

TV News Anchor of the Year (Division I)

FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – WRAL Investigates: Nepotism – Cullen Browder, Randall Kerr, Greg Clark 
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Election 2012: October 11th – Lori Grant, Mick Evans

FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Governor Bev Perdue: Not Running – Martha Woodward, Dave Henderson 
News Documentary
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – WRAL Documentary: The Amendment – Clay Johnson, Jay Jennings, David Crabtree
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Invisible Homeless – Cullen Browder, Randall Kerr, Greg Clark

Special Report
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – John Edwards Trial – Stephanie Beck, James Ford, David Crabtree, Stacy Davis, Kelcey Carlson
SECOND PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Kathy Taft Murder Case – Lori Grant, James Ford, Renee Chou, David Crabtree, Jackie Hyland

Spot News
SECOND PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Hurricane Irene – WRAL-TV

SECOND PLACE:  WRAL-TV – WRAL Investigates: Sex Offenders Near Bus Stops – Kelcey Carlson, Randall Kerr, Greg Clark 

Sports Special
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – The Journey to 903 – Jeff Gravley, Jason Jennings, Jay Jennings, Martha Woodward, Shan Zhong
This is the second consecutive year the station has won first place in the Investigative and Special Report categories.

In keeping with its long-standing commitment to the community and young people who want to work in broadcasting, WRAL and its parent company, locally-owned Capitol Broadcasting, are proud to continue supporting the RTDNAC scholarship given annually to a North Carolina college student. Congratulations to UNC-Chapel Hill junior Emily Palmer! http://rtdnac.org/scholarships

Thanks to WRAL-TV’s Debbie Tullos for this capcom story.

Comments are closed.