WRAL-TV logoFOX 50

FOX 50 Brings Home Emmy in Promo Category

EmmyIt was a Capitol Broadcasting Company night in Nashville, Tennessee when the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Nashville/MidSouth Chapter awarded WRAL-TV in 14 categories. Capitol Broadcasting station FOX 50 received the award for Promo/Spot Image.

WRAL won a wide range of areas with the Emmys, reflecting all aspects of our station from News to Sports to Promotion to Programming to Engineering.

“It is gratifying that the judges have recognized what our viewers see every day of the year: our striving for excellence, high standards and a strong commitment to our community,” said WRAL-TV Vice President and General Manager Steven D. Hammel.  “I could not be any prouder of everyone at the Station.”

WRAL tied with WTVF in Nashville for the most Emmys won by any station.

The honors were presented at the Emmy Banquet and Live Telecast on Saturday, January 26, 2013, at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville.

And the WRAL & FOX 50 winners are:

Promo Spot/News Same Day
Greg Fishel in the World’s Worst Weather – Jay Yovanovich, WRAL-TV

Promo Spot/News
Raleigh’s Invisible Homeless – Jay Yovanovich, WRAL-TV

Promo Spot/Program
6,149 Days – Jay Yovanovich, WRAL-TV

  Jay Yovanovich
Promo Spot/Image
January Rocks – Marc Derro, Gayle Hardy, Justin Owen, Karin Fullington, Phillipe Charles, Scott Reid, FOX 50
Marc Derro Gayle Hardy Justin Owen
Karin Fullington Phillipe Charles Scott Reid

Promo Spot/Sports
The Legend of Friday NightJay Yovanovich, Steve Elizondo, WRAL-TV

Jay Yovanovich Steve Elizondo
Promo Campaign
The WRAL Legacy – Shelly Leslie, Christian McIlwain, WRAL-TV
Shelly Leslie Christian McIlwain
Graphic Arts
Shan Graphic Arts Composite – Shan Zhong, WRAL-TV
  Shan Zhong

Changes in Chapel HillJeff Gravley, WRAL-TV

  Jeff Gravley
News Special
The Kathy Taft CaseJames A. Ford, Jr., Renee Chou, Lori Grant, Chad Flowers, WRAL-TV
James Ford Renee Chou
Lori Grant Chad Flowers

6,149 Days – Clay Johnson, Jay Jennings, Jim Rothschild, Keith Baker, Bridget Whelan, Valerie Aguirre, Steve Elizondo, Shan Zhong, WRAL-TV 

Clay Johnson Jay Jennings Jim Rothschild
Keith Baker Bridget Whelan Valerie Aguirre
  Steve Elizondo Shan Zhong

Investigative Report
WRAL Investigates: Medicaid Billing – Cullen Browder, Randall Kerr, Kelly Hinchcliffe, Greg Clark, WRAL-TV

General Assignment – No Time Limit
Invisible Homeless – Cullen Browder, Randall Kerr, Kelly Hinchcliffe, Greg Clark, WRAL-TV

Cullen Browder Randall Kerr
Kelly Hinchcliffe Greg Clark

Technical Achievement
The Creation of the New WRAL Broadcast Center – Rick Congleton, Tony W. Gupton, Peter Sockett, Mike Upchurch, Frederick Kelly, Charles Braswell, Tony Patterson, Bill Weinel, Mike Mory, Chris Coles, Jimmy Gamble, P. B. Jernigan,  Patrice Jobes, Andy Christensen, Michelle McNeil, Chris Cormier, Matthew Brandes, Bill McKenna, WRAL-TV 

Rick Congleton Tony Gupton Pete Sockett
Mike Upchurch Fred Kelly Charles Braswell
Tony Patterson Bill Weinel Mike Mory
Chris Coles Jimmy Gamble P.B. Jernigan
Patrice Jobes Andy Christensen Michelle McNeil
Chris Cormier Matt Brandes (not pictured: Bill McKenna)
Scott Mason News Writing – Scott Mason, WRAL-TV
  Scott Mason

WRAL News at 11: Hurricane Irene Aftermath – Martha Woodward, Miranda Dotson, Debra Morgan, Aysu Basaran, Stephanie Beck, Streater Kelley, Crystal Woods, Timothy Stiles, Tony W. Gupton, Cullen Browder, Ken Smith, WRAL-TV

Martha Woodward Miranda Dotson Debra Morgan
Aysu Basaran Stephanie Beck Streater Kelley
Crystal Woods Tim Stiles Tony Gupton
  Cullen Browder Ken Smith

WRAL-TV & FOX 50 earned a collective 45 nominations in the overall competition. For a list of WRAL & FOX 50’s nominations, visit the link below:

To find a complete list of winners from the 27th  Annual MidSouth Emmy Awards, click here: http://nashville.emmyonline.org/#178

Thanks to WRAL-TV’s Steve Hammel, Leesa Moore & Debbie Tullos for contributions to this capcom story.

Comments are closed.