WRAL-TV Named Outstanding News Operation, Takes Home 29 Awards

WRAL-TV logo

WRAL-TV Named Outstanding News Operation, Takes Home 29 Awards at the North Carolina Associated Press and Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas

WRAL News Raleigh-Durham’s most watched television station received the top honor of Outstanding News Operation at the North Carolina Associated Press awards for the sixth time in eight years. It is one of 17 honors the organization awarded to WRAL-TV.  The station also took seven first-place and five second-place awards at the RTDNAC awards, which honors the best in broadcast journalism in North Carolina and South Carolina.

“Our commitment to serving our communities’ viewers is paramount,” said WRAL-TV Vice President and General Manager Steven D. Hammel. “From investigative reporting to sports and everything in between, I am delighted that the judges saw in the entries what our viewers see on a daily basis: solid journalism and relevant story-telling. I am very proud of our News Team.”

At the North Carolina Associated Press, WRAL-TV won honors in 11 categories: Outstanding News Operation, Best Spot News, Best General News, Best Enterprise/Investigative, Best Feature, Best Sports Feature, Best Weather Reporting, Best Consumer Reporting, Best Health Reporting, Best News Writing, Best Website, Best Series, and Best Photography.

The station won eight awards and received nine honorable mentions. The awards are listed below.

Outstanding News Operation

Best Spot News
WRAL-TV – John Edwards Decision – WRAL News staff

Best General News
WRAL-TV – Officer’s Road to Recovery – Stacy Davis, Ed Wilson, Greg Clark

Best Enterprise/Investigative
WRAL-TV – Nepotism Investigation – Cullen Browder, Greg Clark, Randall Kerr, Kelly Hinchcliffe

Best Sports Feature
WRAL-TV – Butch Davis Exclusive – Jeff Gravley, Richard Adkins, Ken Medlin, Brad Simmons

Best Weather Reporting
WRAL-TV – Tracking Hurricane Sandy – Greg Fishel, Nate Johnson, Mark Simpson, Renee Chou, Tony Gupton, Lori Grant, Stephanie Moore

Best Consumer Reporting
WRAL-TV – Exploding Sunroofs – Monica Laliberte, David McCorkle, Jennifer Sorber, George Leggett

Best Newswriting
WRAL-TV – Bryan Mims Composite – Bryan Mims

At RTDNAC, WRAL-TV won awards in 12 categories: General News, Special Report, Series, Political-Election, Education, Sports Special, Photographer of the Year, Producer of the Year, Consumer/Economic, Health-Medicine, News Documentary and Political-General.

Seven of those were first place awards and five were second place. First place awards are listed below.

General News
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Officer’s Road to Recovery – Stacy Davis, Ed Wilson, Greg Clark 

Special Report
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Soft Targets, Hard Choices – Kerwin Speight, Aysu Basaran, Rick Gall, Jodi Leese Glusco, Kelly Hinchcliffe

FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Haiti Revisited – Scott Mason, Chad Flowers

FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Election 2012 – Rick Gall, Leesa Moore, James Ford, John Renigar, Rusty Kroboth 
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Wake Busing Woes

Sports Special 
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Battle of the Blues – Jeff Gravley 

Photographer of the Year
FIRST PLACE:  WRAL-TV – Richard Adkins

“Each day, we strive to break news, uncover stories, and provide a wide variety of coverage that matters to our viewers,” said WRAL-TV News Director Rick Gall. “We’re honored to be recognized for that work, which reflects the dedication of an experienced, talented, and passionate staff.”  

Thanks to WRAL-TV’s Debbie Tullos for this capcom story & graphic.

Comments are closed.