WRAL Named Outstanding News Operation in NC for Seventh Time in Nine Years

Wins Six First Place RTDNAC/AP Awards

RTDNACRaleigh-Durham’s most watched television station received the top honor of Outstanding News Operation at the North Carolina Associated Press awards for the seventh time in nine years. WRAL-TV took home a total of 14 honors from the RTDNAC/AP awards ceremony honoring the best in broadcast journalism in North Carolina and South Carolina.

“It’s great to see such a wide variety of our work and our talented staff get this kind of recognition,” said WRAL-TV News Director Rick Gall. “The Outstanding News Operation award, in particular, speaks to the tremendous energy and effort we put forth every day in providing news coverage that makes a difference in the communities that we serve.”

The awards are listed below with links to the winning award submissions.

  • AP Outstanding News Operation (North Carolina) 
    First Place: WRAL — WRAL Outstanding News Operation
  • RTDNAC Best Photography
    First Place: WRAL — Nooks and Crannies — Richard Adkins
  • RTDNAC General News
    First Place: WRAL — Medical Miracle — Bruce Mildwurf, Ed Wilson, Greg Clark, Adam Owens, Cullen Browder
  • RTDNAC Light Feature
    First Place: WRAL — Willie McRae — Gerald Owens, Greg Clark
  • RTDNAC Political-Election
    First Place: WRAL — May Primary — Leesa Moore, Lori Grant, Jamie Thomas, John Renigar, Dave Henderson
  • RTDNAC TV News Anchor of the Year
    First Place: WRAL — David Crabtree
  • AP Best Newscast (North Carolina)
    Second Place: WRAL — Kidnapped Man Rescued — Kimberly Ursich, Jay Nelson 
  • RTDNAC News Documentary
    Second Place: WRAL — Cut Loose and Cut Off — Clay Johnson, Jay Jennings, Steve Elizondo, Bill Leslie
  • RTDNAC News Website
    Second Place: WRAL — WRAL.com
  • RTDNAC Special Report
    Second Place: WRAL — Mighty Endeavor — Stephanie Moore, Waliya Lari, James Ford, John Renigar, David Crabtree
  • RTDNAC Best Sportscaster
    Second Place: WRAL — Jeff Gravley
  • RTDNAC TV News Photographer of the Year
    Second Place: WRAL — Greg Clark
  • RTDNAC TV News Producer of the Year
    Second Place: WRAL — Kimberly Ursich
  • RTDNAC TV News Reporter of the Year
    Second Place: WRAL — Adam Owens

“I am thrilled for our Team, which works so hard year-round to produce quality journalism,” said WRAL-TV Vice President and General Manager Steven D. Hammel. “The real winner with the awards is our viewers, who experience this quality on a daily basis.”

 Thanks to WRAL-TV’s Debbie Tullos for this capcom story.

Comments are closed.