WRAL-TV Nominated for Multiple AP/RTDNAC Awards

RTDNACThe Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas (RTDNAC) and The Associated Press recently announced the finalists for their 2016 awards contest, and WRAL-TV made the list thirteen times.  The Big 5 is once again up for Outstanding News Operation and Best News Website.  And the WRAL finalists are:

AP Awards

Best Newscast (North Carolina)
– WRAL – Pope’s Historic Visit – Kimberly Ursich, John Renigar

Outstanding News Operation (North Carolina)

Public Service (North Carolina)
– WRAL – Faith Fear Freedom – Waliya Lari, David Crabtree, Dave Henderson, Jodi Leese Glusco


Best Newscast
– WRAL – February Tornadoes – Lori Grant, Jamie Thomas, Mick Evans, Greg Fishel, Mike Maze

News Documentary
– WRAL – Inside Cuba – Leyla Santiago, Zac Gooch, Rick Gall, Aysu Basaran, Natalie Matthews

News Website
– WRAL – WRAL.com

Original Web Reporting
– WRAL – After Inflation, N.C. Teacher Pay Has Dropped 13% in Past 15 Years – Kelly Hinchcliffe, Valerie Aguirre, Clay Johnson, Jay Jennings

– WRAL – Being Transgender – Amanda Lamb, Chad Flowers

Sports Special
– WRAL – Super Bowl 50 – Jeff Gravley, Ken Smith, Lori Grant, James Ford, Leesa Moore

Spot News
– WRAL – Officer Involved Shooting

TV News Anchor Team of the Year (TV I)
– WRAL – David Crabtree and Debra Morgan

TV News Producer of the Year (TV I)
– WRAL – Kimberly Ursich

TV News Reporter of the Year (TV I)
– WRAL – Julia Sims

The awards will be presented at a luncheon during the RTDNAC/AP annual convention.  The luncheon will take place on Saturday, November 12, 2016, at the Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The annual RTDNAC/AP Awards program “brings together media professionals and journalism students to honor the best in broadcast journalism through our annual awards program.”

Comments are closed.