WRAL-TV & NCNN Bring Home Awards

WRAL-TV & NCNN Bring Home Awards

The Electronic News Association of the Carolinas recently announced the winners of its 2001 Television and Radio Awards. Formerly the Radio and Television News Directors Association of the Carolinas, the ENAC presented awards to both the North Carolina News Network and WRAL-TV.

The North Carolina News Network won:

Best Special Report for coverage of the winter storm that dumped 20″ of snow on the Triangle. (NCNN News Staff) Honorable Mention for Best Sportscast (Rick Dayton)

Best Political/
Election coverage (NCNN News Staff)

Honorable Mention for Best Public Affairs coverage NC Report Census 2000 (Bruce Ferrell)
Best Sports Special for ACC Football Preview (Rick Dayton) Best On-Line Site (NCNN News Staff)

WRAL-TV won:

2nd Place – Spot News “Train Wreck” (Len Besthoff, Chad Whisnant) 2nd Place – General News “Child Lures” (Len Besthoff, Jim Young)
1st Place – Series “Mining” (Scott Mason, Jay Jennings) 2nd Place – Features “North/South Drivers” (Scott Mason, Jay Jennings)
1st Place – Documentary “When The Well Runs Dry” (Richard Adkins, Bill Leslie) 1st Place – Investigative “Flood Cars” (Monica Laliberte, Lori Lair, Robert Meikle)
1st Place – Consumer/
“Flood Cars” (Monica Laliberte, Lori Lair, Robert Meikle)
2nd Place – On-line Sites WRAL.com NC Television
Reporter of the Year – 2nd Place Scott Mason    

The awards were handed out at the annual awards banquet and meeting of the ENAC in Charleston, SC.

At the meeting WRAL-TV Director of Special Projects John Harris was elected president of the association for the coming year.

Congratulations to NCNN & WRAL-TV for these honors!

Comments are closed.