Unbeliev-A-Bull!! Durham Wins Back-to-Back Titles!!

Unbeliev-A-Bull!! Durham Wins Back-to-Back Titles!!

Bulls win Governor's Cup
The Bulls took the Governor’s Cup Title in only 3 games against Pawtucket.

Jorge Cantu homered in the top of the sixth inning and the Durham Bulls bullpen held the Pawtucket Red Sox scoreless in their final three at bats as the Bulls clinched their second straight Governor’s Cup Title with a 3-2 win. It is the third time the Bulls have won back-to-back championships and the ninth title in the Durham’s 101 year history.

The Bulls took the lead with two runs in the fourth inning on an RBI-single by Jonny Gomes and a bases loaded walk to Jason Tyner. Pawtucket responded with two in the fifth inning on a two-run home run by Cesar Crespo. RHP Jim Magrane (1-0) got the victory allowing two runs (one earned) on four hits in six innings.

RHP Lee Gardner, the all-time and single season leader for the Bulls in saves, recorded his fifth save of the 2003 post-season, also a Bulls record.

LHP Bruce Chen (0-2) took the loss allowing three runs on seven hits in five and two-thirds innings.

In the Bulls six-year history in the International League, the team has won five division titles, made the finals four times, and taken home the last two Governor’s Cup Championships. The last International League Team to repeat as champions was the Columbus Clippers in 1992. The last Durham Bulls team to repeat as league champions was in 1941.

Thanks to the Durham Bulls for this capcom story & photo.

Comments are closed.