NCNN Wins Awards for News

North Carolina News Network was honored at the joint gathering of the Associated Press North Carolina Broadcasters and the Radio & Television News Directors of the Carolinas (RTNDAC) meeting held April 23, 2005, at the Hilton Center City in Charlotte.

Bruce Ferrell was honored for best sportscast by the Associated Press North Carolina Broadcasters.

Bruce Ferrell Chris Fitzsimon David Horn Steve Shumake
NCNN’s award winners include (l to r): Bruce Ferrell, Chris Fitzsimon, David Horn & Steve Shumake.

The North Carolina High School Football Scoreboard hosted by Eddie Thomas was honored by the RTNDAC with a first place in the Sports Special category.

The network also received three “Silver Awards” (second place) from RTNDAC.

  • Best Newscast, Steve Shumake
  • Best Feature, “Faces of the State Fair” – Bruce Ferrell
  • Best Documentary, “News and Views: Year In Review” – Chris Fitzsimon (David Horn producer)

During the convention, attendees heard from CNN anchor Kyra Phillips and participated in an ethics session. The keynote address was provided by ABC Radio News Anchor Doug Limerick.

Thanks to WRAL-FM’s Paige Ellis for this capcom story.

Comments are closed.