Regional Emmy Noms Announced

WRAL-TV 5 logoFOX 50 logo Regional Emmy Noms Announced
WRAL-TV & FOX 50 Staffers Receive 30 Nominations

The Nashville/Midsouth Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) recently announced the nominations for the 20th Annual Midsouth Regional Emmy Awards, and both WRAL-TV and FOX 50 received numerous nods. The following entrants will represent Capitol Broadcasting in Nashville, Tennessee at the ceremony on Saturday, January 28, 2006.

News Excellence

Snow and the South, An Icy Mix – Jennifer Sorber, Chris Bolanz, Brad Grantham, WRAL-TV

The Rally in Raleigh – Stephanie Beck, Laurie Clowers, WRAL-TV

Live Breaking News
Gridlock – Rick Gall, WRAL-TV
UNC Victory – Rick Gall, WRAL-TV

News Series/Non-Hard News
WRAL Archives – Scott Mason, WRAL-TV

Saturday Night at the Final Four – Tom Suiter, Jeff Gravley, WRAL-TV

Sports Event Coverage
US Open at Pinehurst – Bob Holliday, Jeff Gravley, Brad Simmons, Jay Hardy, WRAL-TV

Cleaning the Air – Clay Johnson, Jay Jennings, WRAL-TV

Hazel Documentary – Clay Johnson Jay Jennings, Kim Williams, WRAL-TV

Lost Generation – Clay Johnson, Jay Jennings, WRAL-TV

Peaceful Journey – Steve Elizondo, Bill Leslie, WRAL-TV

Special Event/Live
Arch Madness – Leesa Craigie, Stacy Wimmer, James Ford, Tom Suiter, Jeff Gravley, Bob Holliday, Richard Adkins, Ken Smith, Ken Medlin, Tony Gupton, WRAL-TV

Special Event/Post Produced
King of the Court – Randall Kerr, James Ford, Tom Suiter, Ken Medlin

Community Station Project
For the Children Campaign – Phyllis Parish, Loretta Harper-Arnold, WRAL-TV

Kelly’s Story: Weighing Options – Phyllis Parish, Steve Elizondo, WRAL-TV

Children’s Programs
Smart Start Kids – Phyllis Parish, Lee Wing, Bill Jensen, Janet Walters, Willa Brigham, WRAL-TV

Interactivity – John Conway, WRAL-TV

PSA Spot
AIDS, Not Funny – Christine Van Cott, FOX 50

5 Degree Guarantee – Christian McIllwain, Bill Reeves, WRAL-TV
Mark’s Road Crew – Christian McIllwain, Bill Reeves, WRAL-TV

Real Men of FOX 50 – Scott Reid, Jason Matthews, FOX 50

Soundtrax by Shelly 2005 – Shelly Leslie, WRAL-TV

Director/Short Form
Christian McIllwain Composite – Christian McIllwain, WRAL-TV

Scott Mason: Stories – Scott Mason, WRAL-TV

Graphic Arts Campaign – Gayle Hardy, Tim Greeney, FOX 50

Music Composer/Arranger
Peaceful Journey – Bill Leslie, WRAL-TV

Technical Director
Capital Clash – James Ford, WRAL-TV

Scott Mason: Stories – Scott Mason, WRAL-TV

Writer/Short Form
Christian McIllwain Composite – Christian McIllwain, WRAL-TV

The two CBC stations were among 716 entries which were whittled down to 271 nominations by a panel of judges from other regions. Nominees in the 59 categories are from 45 stations and companies in the Nashville/Midsouth Region, which encompasses the states of North Carolina (except Asheville) and Tennessee, and the television market of Huntsville, Alabama.

Comments are closed.