RTNDAC Honors NCNN with Multiple Awards

NCNN logo RTNDAC Honors NCNN with Multiple Awards
Ferrell Named Best Sportscaster for Fourth Time

The Radio and Television News Directors Association of the Carolinas (RTNDAC) recently presented their annual awards on Saturday, October 7, 2006, in Charlotte.   The North Carolina News Network received several honors.  The awards represent the best of television, radio and website work from July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2006.

Bruce Ferrell
NCNN’s Bruce Ferrell
Clayton Henkel
NCNN’s Clayton Henkel
David Horn
NCNN’s David Horn
Cullen Browder
WRAL-TV’s Cullen Browder
Matt Willoughby
NCNN’s Matt Willoughby

The list of NCNN awards includes:

  • Best Documentary:  Clayton Henkel, “NC Report:  Next Generation Hispanics”
  • Best Series:  Clayton Henkel, “Beyond the Headlines:  Next Generation Hispanics”
  • Best Consumer/Economic:  Clayton Henkel, “Beyond the Headlines:  The High Cost of Housing”
  • Best Sportscaster:  Bruce Ferrell

Bruce Ferrell’s win for Best Sportscaster marks the fourth time in recent years he has taken the honor. He won twice this year, both in the fall & spring awards ceremonies. He also took home the award in 2003 and 2004.

NCNN also won several Silver awards, including:

  • Documentary:  Clayton Henkel, “NC Report:  License to Drive”
  • Political (General):  Matt Willoughby & Cullen Browder, “Speaker Jim Black Investigation”
  • Newscast:  David Horn, “February 1, 2006”
  • Sports:  David Horn, “Racing Today”

The awards were presented during the RTNDAC’s annual conference in Charlotte.  The awards presentation took place at Hance Auditorium on the campus of Johnson & Wales University.

The RTNDAC has moved their annual awards presentation to the fall, beginning this year.  Therefore, two sets of awards were presented in 2006.  NCNN also won numerous honors at the April 8th presentation.

Congratulations to NCNN on many jobs well done.

Comments are closed.