Strickland Wins 2010 Sports Turf Manager of the Year

Durham Bulls logo Strickland Wins 2010 Sports Turf Manager of the Year
Scott Strickland & Mike Birling
Durham Bulls General Manager Mike Birling (right) honors Bulls Head Groundskeeper Scott Strickland for winning the International League Sports Turf Manager of the Year in August..

Scott Strickland (Triple-A), Shaun Meredith (Double-A), Chris Ball (Class A) and Tommy Tamaska (Short Season/Rookie) are this year’s classification winners in the annual Sports Turf Manager of the Year Awards, sponsored by the Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA).

Ball was also the Class A winner in 2007. He has won or shared the title of best sports turf manager in the Carolina League for the past four years for his work at the home of the Myrtle Beach Pelicans, BB&T Coastal Field.

Strickland has been in charge of Durham Bulls Athletic Park for the last six seasons. He has been with the Durham Bulls since 2004.

Meredith displayed his talents at Stadium, home of the New Hampshire Fisher Cats, in winning the Double-A honor. He joined the Fisher Cats for last year, after working for State College in the New York-Penn League from 2006-08.

Tamaska has worked for the last year at the Carpenter Complex in Clearwater, Fla., home of the Gulf Coast League Phillies and where Philadelphia’s spring training operations are based.

The STMA provides educational opportunities and support so that sports turf managers can provide the best sports surfaces for all levels of play. Sports turf managers are experts on the field and partners of the game.

The four classification winners, who were selected from among 16 league winners, will receive their award at the Baseball Winter Meetings™ Awards Luncheon at the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort near Orlando on December 6.

Thanks to DBBC’s Matt DeMargel for this capcom story & photo.


Comments are closed.