Capitol Broadcasting Company Receives Governor’s Award

WRAL-TV logoFOX 50

Capitol Broadcasting Company Receives Governor’s Award at the 26th ANNUAL MIDSOUTH EMMY® AWARDS
CBC Stations WRAL and FOX 50 Win Total of 15 Awards, Including News Excellence

Shan Zhong, Shelly Leslie & Jay Yovanovich
WRAL-TV’s Shan Zhong (l to r), Shelly Leslie & Jay Yovanovich show off some of the many Regional Emmys WRAL & FOX 50 staffers took home on March 17th.

It was a Capitol Broadcasting Company night in Nashville, Tennessee when the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Nashville/MidSouth Chapter awarded CBC and the A.J. Fletcher Foundation the Governor’s Award in 2012. CBC television stations WRAL and Fox 50 also took a total of 15 awards.

James F. Goodmon, Jr., President and CEO of Capitol Broadcasting and his wife Barbara, who runs the A.J. Fletcher Foundation, accepted the Governor’s Award.  “I assert the glory days of broadcasting are ahead of us, not behind us,” said Goodmon.  “Don’t let anybody tell you all the new platforms are fragmenting us. New formats help us get important local content to our viewers. I believe mobile DTV will ultimately allow us to bring live television to 300 million new screens.”


  • Watch the video shown at the awards ceremony at the announcement of Capitol Broadcasting & the A.J. Fletcher Foundation as the Governor’s Award recipient.
  • Watch the entire ceremony here
  • See Jim Goodmon’s acceptance speech here

The Governor’s Award was presented to CBC in recognition of its cutting edge engineering and development.  The A.J. Fletcher Foundation was recognized as a force for social progress in North Carolina.

WRAL-TV walked away with the top honor for News Excellence.  “To win such an award is a real honor, and I believe it reflects the hard work, dedication, and talent of a great staff,” said WRAL News Director Rick Gall.  “Our daily mission is to serve the many communities across our viewing area by providing timely, compelling, meaningful, and in-depth news coverage.   That’s especially true in times of widespread emergency and disaster.   I’m particularly proud of all we accomplished during and after the worst tornado outbreak here in almost three decades.”

And the winners are:

News Excellence
WRAL-TV logo
Deadly Tornadoes – Tony Gupton, Christine Bowley, WRAL-TV
Tony Gupton Christine Bowley
Breaking News
Deadly Tornadoes Hit – James Ford, Rick Gall, Martha Woodward, Mike Charbonneau, Sally Smith, Ken Smith, Tony Gupton, Lori Grant, Mary Alice Boliek, Nathan Johnson, Chad Flowers, WRAL-TV
James Ford Rick Gall Martha Woodward
Mike Charbonneau Sally Smith Ken Smith
Tony Gupton Lori Grant Mary Alice Boliek
  Nate Johnson Chad Flowers
Serious Feature News Series
Main Street, North Carolina – Bryan Mims, Richard Adkins, WRAL-TV
Bryan Mims Richard Adkins
Light Feature News Report
Birthday Card
– Scott Mason, Robert Meikle, WRAL-TV
Scott Mason Robert Meikle
Light Feature News Series
North Carolina Nooks and Crannies – Richard Adkins, WRAL-TV
  Richard Adkins
Special Event Coverage/Live
Scotty’s Homecoming – Leesa Moore, Debra Morgan, Gerald Owens, James Ford, Lynda Loveland, Jodi Glusco, Chad Flowers, Pete Sockett, Fred Kelly, Tony Gupton, Mike Upchurch, Charles Braswell, Tony Patterson, Bill Weinel, Mike Mory, Chris Coles, WRAL-TV
Leesa Moore Debra Morgan Gerald Owens
James Ford Lynda Loveland Jodi Glusco
Chad Flowers Pete Sockett Fred Kelly
Tony Gupton Mike Upchurch Charles Braswell
  Tony Patterson Bill Weinel
  Mike Mory Chris Coles
The O-Fishel Month of May – Shelly Leslie, Anita Normanly, Jodi Glusco, Aysu Basaran, Valerie Aguirre, WRAL-TV/
Shelly Leslie Anita Normanly Jodi Glusco
  Aysu Basaran Valerie Aguirre
Promo Spot/News Same Day
Sex in Schools – Jay Yovanovich, WRAL-TV
  Jay Yovanovich
Promo Spot/News Image
Day After Day / Breaking News – Shelly Leslie, Christian McIllwain, Steve Elizondo, WRAL-TV
Shelly Leslie Christian McIllwain
  Steve Elizondo
Promo Spot/Program (Non-News)
Time Warner Cable/Durham Bulls in HD – Karen Johnson, Justin Owen, FOX 50
Karen Johnson Justin Owen
Promo Campaign
FOX 50 Lip Dub Project – Marc Derro, Karin Fullington, Phillipe Charles, FOX 50
Marc Derro Karin Fullington
  Phillipe Charles
Graphic Arts
Shan Graphic Arts Composite – Shan Zhong, WRAL-TV
  Shan Zhong
Tar Heel Traveler – Scott Mason, WRAL-TV
  Scott Mason
Writer/Short Form
Lip Dub Composite: Lyrical Copy – Phillipe Charles, FOX 50
  Phillipe Charles

WRAL-TV & FOX 50 earned an impressive 40 nominations in the overall competition. For a list of WRAL & FOX 50’s nominations, visit the link below:

“It is gratifying that the judges have recognized what our viewers see every day of the year: our striving for excellence, high standards and a strong commitment to our community,” said WRAL-TV Vice President and General Manager Steven D. Hammel.  “I could not be any prouder of everyone at the Station.”

To find a complete list of winners from the 26th  Annual MidSouth Emmy Awards, click here:

Thanks to WRAL-TV’s Debbie Tullos for the majority of this capcom story & to WRAL-TV’s Shelly Leslie for the capcom photo from the ceremony.

Comments are closed.