WRAL-TV Honored for News Stories, Documentary

Two national organizations recently honored WRAL-TV with awards, one for a series a stories and another for a WRAL documentary.

Gabriel Award
WRAL-TV won a national Gabriel Award in the Short Feature category for the entry “A Heart for Al-J,” a series of stories by WRAL-TV Anchor/Reporter Bryan Mims about a boy who received a heart transplant.  WRAL-TV Photojournalists Richard, Adkins, Andrew Cumbee, Keith Baker and Ed Wilson worked with Sims on the stories.

Gabriel Award

The Gabriel Award

The Catholic Academy of Communication Professionals sponsors the Gabriel Awards, which were founded in 1965 to honor works of excellence in film, network, cable television and radio, and the newly added social media category.

“We continue to recognize outstanding artistic achievement in media that entertains and enriches with a true vision of humanity and a true vision of life,” reads the award description.  Entries are judged on values, content, creativity, artistic quality, technical quality and impact.

The 2017 Gabriel Awards will be presented at the Catholic Media Conference in Quebec, Canada in June.

Edward R. Murrow Regional Award
WRAL-TV has also won a regional Edward R. Murrow Award in the documentary category for Black and Blue, produced by WRAL-TV Documentary Producer Clay Johnson and WRAL-TV Documentary Photographer Jay Jennings.  WRAL-TV Anchor/Reporter Gerald Owens hosted the documentary, and a variety of other staffers contributed as well.

The Edward R. Murrow AwardsThe Edward R. Murrow Awards, “recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and digital news organizations around the world.”  The Radio Television Digital News Association established the awards in 1971.

“Remarkable journalism is being done every day in newsrooms across this country,” said RTDNA Chair Vincent Duffy. “We’re proud to recognize the most outstanding ways journalists are keeping the public informed, holding the powerful accountable and enhancing the quality of life in their communities.”

“Those who want proof of the important role journalists play in our society need only look at the work we highlight with the Edward R. Murrow Awards,” added RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender. “This is where real news happens.”

WRAL-TV is among 751 winners in 16 categories.  These 2017 winners come from among nearly 4,300 entries.

  • Find a complete list of the 2017 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award winners here.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition; national winners will be determined in May.

Comments are closed.