WRAL News Receives National Recognition for Breaking News Coverage

NEW YORK, NY – Nominations for the 41st Annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards were announced yesterday by The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS). WRAL News was among the nominations, drawing national accolades for remarkable coverage of Hurricane Florence in September of 2018.

WRAL News won a regional Emmy earlier this year in the Breaking News category for Hurricane Florence reporting that included 75 hours of continuous coverage. That Emmy win made the entry eligible to compete on the national level, for which WRAL received this nomination. WRAL is one of only five local stations in the country nominated in the Spot or Breaking News category.

“To be nominated for a national award of this prominence is a real honor and recognizes our unyielding commitment to serve the public in the midst of a natural disaster,” said Rick Gall, WRAL News Director. “I couldn’t be more proud of the staff for their work during Hurricane Florence and in major breaking news coverage on an ongoing basis.”

Watch an abbreviated clip of the entry:
Outstanding Regional News Story: Spot or Breaking News – Hurricane Florence

“The WRAL News team offered an extraordinary public service to viewers in North Carolina during Hurricane Florence with round-the-clock lifesaving news coverage. This recognition for the dedicated storm coverage by our meteorologists and journalists is well-deserved,” said Joel Davis, VP & General Manager of WRAL-TV & FOX 50.

NATAS is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. The 41st Annual News & Documentary Emmy Awards honor the best in the industry, recognizing those who consistently deliver crucial, clear and factual news reporting.

The awards will be presented in two individual ceremonies:

  • News Categories – Monday, September 21 at 8 p.m.
  • Documentary Categories – Tuesday, September 22nd at 8 p.m.

The full press release from NATAS and the complete list of nominees is also available on the National Television Academy’s website.

Comments are closed.